Bancroft LibGuides: Psychological Disorder Project: Books, Journals and Other Resources

Resources at the Garfield Library

The DSM-5 is available in the library - 616.89 DIA.

During this project, the DSM-5 will be restricted to in library use only - please respect your peers by using the title responsibly.

Databases to consider:

Credo Source Reference This link opens in a new window
Broad-based general reference materials billed as the resource for "Background Information to Start Your Research".
Psychology (Gale OneFile) This link opens in a new window
A comprehensive collection of periodicals supporting all aspects of psychology.
Health and Medicine (Gale OneFile) This link opens in a new window
Discover periodicals and reference book content supporting research in health studies.
JSTOR This link opens in a new window
JSTOR is a digital library of academic journals, books, and primary sources. JSTOR provides access to more than 12 million academic journal articles, books, and primary sources in 75 disciplines.
PubMed This link opens in a new window
PubMed comprises more than 26 million citations for biomedical literature from MEDLINE, life science journals, and online books. Citations may include links to full-text content from PubMed Central and publisher web sites.

Psychology Resources From BPL
Using your BPL e-Card (FREE, Sign up here - http://www.bpl.org/contact/form_ecard.php), you have access to several academic databases that you may find helpful for this project. In particular, you may find JSTOR to be helpful for this project.
Google Scholar
Google Scholar is the academically focused side of Google. Searching on Google Scholar is limited to academic publishers, universities, and pre-print depositories. Google Scholar narrows your search to the following types of items:

- Peer-reviewed articles
- Theses
- Books
- Technical reports
- Abstracts
- Reprints

Please note that not all Google Scholar results will be freely available as you are searching the internet and not a database to which the school subscribes.

Additional Helpful Links:

Looking for a specific book? Or books on a specific topic? Check the Bancroft Library Catalog

As well as our eBook collection:

What Is Panic Disorder? by Carla Mooney
Call Number: 616.85 MOO
Publication Date: 2015
Phobic Disorders and Panic in Adults by Martin M. Antony; Richard P. Swinson
Call Number: 616.85 ANT
Publication Date: 2000
Note this came out before DSM-5
Obsessed by Allison Britz
Call Number: B BRITZ
Publication Date: 2017
"A brave teen recounts her debilitating struggle with obsessive-compulsive disorder--and brings readers through every painful step as she finds her way to the other side--in this powerful and inspiring memoir."--Provided by publisher.
What Is Bipolar Disorder? by Andrea C. Nakaya
Call Number: 616.89 NAK
Publication Date: 2015
A guide to understanding bipolar disorder.
Mental Illness by Lorraine Savage (Editor)
Call Number: E-Book
Publication Date: 2009
Note this was published before DSM-5
Depression by Jacqueline B. Toner; Claire A.B. Freeland
Call Number: MS 616.85 TON
Publication Date: 2016
Middle School Collection
What Is Schizophrenia? by Melissa Abramovitz
Call Number: 616.89 ABR
Publication Date: 2015
A guide to understanding schizophrenia.
Personality Disorders by Hal Marcovitz
Call Number: E-Book
Publication Date: 2009
Note this was published before DSM-5
Brave New Brain by Nancy C. Andreasen
Call Number: 616.89 AND
Publication Date: 2001
Note this was published before DSM-5
Anxiety Disorders and Phobias by Aaron Beck; Gary Emery; Ruth L. Greenberg (As told to)
Call Number: 616.852 BEC
Publication Date: 2005
Note this was published before DSM-5

Third-person Case Studies: APA
A list of case studies demonstrating interventions for depression used for individuals of varying ages.
Third-Person Case Study of Early Onset Psychosis/Schizophrenia
From the National Library of Medicine/PubMed