Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Bookends: Digital Resources for Reading: Home

Did you know that you have access to reading materials from the Bancroft School's Garfield and Prouty Libraries, the Boston Public Library (BPL), and your local Public Library? All from home? All for free?! Look here to learn more.

Welcome

Did you know that you have access to reading materials from the Bancroft School's Garfield and Prouty Libraries, the Boston Public Library (BPL), and your local Public Library?

All from home? 
All for free?!

 


What will I find on this guide?

Looking for your next great read or watch? Check out the resources in this guide to see how you can access ebooks, audio books, movies and more all from home!

This guide consists of three tabs (towards the top left hand side of this screen):

  • The home tab (the page you are on now) provides you with information on Bancroft specific resources.
  • The Public Library tab  includes some ideas on tools you may* be able to access from your public library.
    *access varies by library - check with your local public library for more information.
  • The Art, StoryTime and More Book-ish Fun! tab provides links to sites where you can join participate in even more bookish fun!

Public Library Card

 

Your library card is your passport to fun!

Some of the resources linked here on this page are free from your local public library and from the Boston Public Library (BPL)! 

In order to access these materials you will need to obtain a card.


Boston Public Library

Did you know as a resident of Massachusetts that you are able to access all of the BPL's digital resources including eBooks and Databases using a BPL eCard?

Information on obtaining a BPL ECard can be found at the following link:


Your Local Public Library

Information on obtaining a local public library card may be found from the list below or from your city or town's library website.  


Bancroft School

Library Webpage

Is a resource asking for a password?  Please see the library tab in the Student Portal for more information.

Overdrive (General Interest - All Levels)

To login:

  1. Click the Green My school is MLS Commonwealth eBook Collection button
  2. Select Bancroft School from the dropdown menu
  3. Sign in with your Bancroft username (the part of your email before @bancroftschool.org) and your Bancroft password.

 You can also use the Sora or Overdrive mobile apps.  In the app:

  1. Click Add a library.
  2. Enter “Bancroft School” into the search bar and click Search.
  3. Click on Bancroft School then MLS Commonwealth eBook Collection.

Scholastic Flix (Interest Level PreK - Grade 6)

Looking for a fun interactive read?  Try one of the Flix!

JLG Digital

Looking for your next great read?  The Bancroft Libraries are happy to announce you now have even more digital options with the addition of JLG Digital

JLG Digital is a rotating collection of titles available to all students at Bancroft. To access the collection and begin reading today check out JLG Digital

JLG Digital can be accessed directly using the link above and the information is also accessible from the library tab in the Portal (see the Database Usernames and Passwords section)